log in / register

Charlie’s Country

Rolf de Heer
Australia 2014 / 108’

Although the village community mainly consists of aboriginal residents, the laws are nevertheless established by the Australian government. When aging Charlie is hungry and wants to hunt something, a police officer takes away his spear, and when he feels like drinking some grog with his friends, he has to leave his native region, where alcohol is prohibited. In the end, as a result of constant malnutrition, his low social status, and cultural domination by white people, he decides to return to the bush, where he is quickly convinced that he can no longer meet the demands of life in nature. Director Rolf de Heer (Alexandra’s Project, Ten Canoes, Dr. Plonk), no stranger to New Horizons audiences, and with no unnecessary moralizing, he shows us the current situation of Australia’s Aborigines, who, unable to adapt to new conditions in life, are being pushed to the margins of society. At the same time, he tells a simple, touching story about a good-natured man who, with the arrival of civilization, became a foreigner in his own country.

Adam Horowski


Cannes IFF 2014 - Un Certain Regard Award - Best Actor (David Gulpilil)

Rolf de Heer

Rolf de Heer was born in 1951 in Heemskerk, the Netherlands. When he was 8 years old, he moved to Sydney with his family, where, years later, he began his studies at the Australian Film Television and Radio School. His films have won numerous awards at international festivals, including in Cannes (Un Certain Regard – Special Jury Prize for Ten Canoes (2006)) and Venice (FIPRESCI for Bad Boy Bubby (1993) and a SIGNIS Award - Honorable Mention for The Tracker (2002)). He is one of the co-owners of the film studio Vertigo Productions.

Selected filmography

1993 Bad Boy Bubby

1998 Zatańcz ze mną / Dance Me to My Song

2003 Tajemnica Aleksandry / Alexandra’s Project

2006 Dziesięć czółen / Ten Canoes

2007 Dr Plonk / Dr. Plonk

Related articles

Online film

Cast & Crew

director Rolf de Heer
screenplay Rolf de Heer, David Gulpilil
cinematography Ian Jones
editing Tania Nehme
music Graham Tardif
cast David Gulpilil, Peter Djigirr, Luke Ford, Jennifer Budukpuduk Gaykamangu, Peter Minygululu, Bobby Bununggurr
producer Nils Erik Nielsen, Peter Djigirr, Rolf de Heer
production Vertigo Productions, Bula’bula Arts Aboriginal
sales Visit Films
language English, Yolngu
colouration colour