log in / register


Pen-Ek Ratanaruang
Nang mai
Thailand 2009 / 109’

At first we enter a wild, tropical jungle in a distant, though undefined past. A young woman is assaulted by two men. And yet these are their dead bodies to be found in the forest and not hers. The woman is gone. Then, we shift to contemporary times and we observe the relationship of a married couple, May and Nop. Although May has everything one can dream of - a career, money, and a loving husband, she is still lacking something. She has an affair with a married man. One day Nop decides to go to the jungle to photograph the mysteries of nature. May decides to accompany him. In the forest, Nop disappears suddenly without a trace. When May is convinced that she has lost him forever, the man returns, but he seems different.

The Nymph is a mysterious and melancholic study of loneliness in the relationship of two confused people. Like in his previous films (e.g. the unforgettable Last Life in the Universe), Pen-Ek Ratanaruang managed to create a dense, suffocating atmosphere of the tropical air, marked with almost palpable sadness. In this extraordinarily visually refined film, nature is not only a picturesque background, but it is also a scenery where all human emotions find shelter.

Karolina Kosińska

(based on materials provided by the producer)

Pen-Ek Ratanaruang

Born in Bangkok in 1962. As a teenager he left for New York, where he studied art history. After graduation he worked as a sketcher and a graphic artist. Upon his return to Thailand, he became the art director at Leo Burnett's agency. His filmmaking career started with TV commercials. In 1997 he directed his feature debut Fun Bar Karaoke, which made him popular and appreciated in his homeland. His following films also had very good reviews, especially Transistor Love Story and Last Life in the Universe, winner of the Upstream Prize in Venice. Pen-Ek Ratanaruang is regarded as one of the directors who contributed to the revival of Thai cinema.


1997 Fun Bar Karaoke

1999 Ruang talok hok-gau / 6ixtynin9

2001 Mon-Rak Transistor

2003 Ruang rak noi nid mahasan / Last Life in the Universe

2006 Invisible Waves

2007 Ploy

2009 Nang mai / Nymph

Related articles

Online film