log in / register

A State of Siege

Vincent Ward
New Zeland 1978 / 52’

After the death of her mother , Malfred Signal decides to move "up north" to be alone. She takes an isolated cottage by the sea. All seems well until, one windy night, she is bothered by what seems to be an intruder banging on the door. Tension builds until she gets to the phone and calls the police. She then calls a neighbour, because she is nervous. She tells the neighbour about her life in a controlled, flat voice. She had been an art teacher, she had taught people to draw commonplace objects-rocks. As she is talking, the viewer is made aware that the phone is not connected

Celluloid Dreams. A Century of Film in New Zealand

Vincent Ward was born in 1956 in Greytown. His mother was a Hamburg-born Jew who fled Nazi Germany to Palestine, his father was from New Zealand. He started in theatre and then move into fine arts, film drama, and then documentaries. He attended the Ilam School of Art in Christchurch, then went to Fine Arts School in Cantenbury, where in early 1978 he was given leave. He left for Te Urewera where he want to realize In Spring One Plants Alone, which was finished in 1980. In 1978 he made A State of Siege based on Janet Frame's novel and six years later he directed Vigil, which was the first film form New Zealand screened at Cannes festival. 1988 saw him directing The Navigator: A Medieval Oddysey, also shown in Cannes. In 1992 he directed Map of the Human Heart which had a $34 million budget compared with $2 million for The Navigator. He worked on the script for Alien 3, at the time of writing he was filming What Dreams May Come. In 2003 Ward produced The Last Samurai by Edward Zwick. Two years later he directed River Queen and this year - documentary Rain of the Children.


1978 A State of Siege (śr.m. / mid.)

1980 In Spring One Plants Alone (śr.m. / mid.)

1984 Dojrzewanie / Vigil

1988 Nawigator: odyseja średniowieczna / The Navigator: A Medieval Odyssey

1992 Mapa ludzkiego serca / Map of the Human Heart

1998 Między piekłem a niebem / What Dreams May Come

2005 River Queen

2008 Rain of the Children

Related articles

Official site