log in / register

The winners of the 12. T-Mobile New Horizons IFF revealed

Thursday till Sunday , dir. Dominga Sotomayor Castillo
The Program of the 8th American Film Festival Has Been Announced!

12. T-Mobile New Horizons IFF on Sunday, July 29th was brought to finale with the screening of Walter Salles’ film On the Road. In eleven days the festival featured 469 films from 52 countries.  160 films had their Polish premieres.  In all, 537 film screenings were held during the festival. Turnout at this year’s festival amounted in 108 thousands spectators.

From 12 films in the International New Horizons Competition the Jury composed of Urszula Antoniak, Naomi Kawase, Lav Diaz, Amat Escalante and Przemysław Wojcieszek, awarded the Grand Prix and 20 000 € prize to From Thursday till Sunday (De jueves a domingo, Chile, Netherlands 2012) directed by Dominga Sotomayor Castillo.


Film critics associated in the International Federation of Film Critics have given the prestige FIPRESCI award to Neighbouring Sounds(O som ao redor, Brazil2012) by Kleber Mendonça Filho. On the FIPRESCI Jury sat Alison Frank, Müge Turan and Ola Salwa. The Audience Award went to Donoma(France, 2010) by Djin Carrénard.

More >

In the Films On Art International Competition the Jury (Zbigniew Libera, James Benning, Susanne Sachse, Rebecca De Pas and Sean Farnel) gave the 10 000 prize to Punk Syndrome (Kovasikajuttu, Finland 2012) by Jukki Kärkkäinena and Jani-Petteri Passi.

More >

In the European Short Films Competition for best animation won Bobby Yeah (Great Britain 2011) by Robert Morgan. The prize for best documentary in this competition went to Without Evidence (Manque de preuves, France, South Korea 2012) by Hayoun Kwona. The prize for best experimental film went to The Ghost of Happiness (Des Gespents des Glück, Switzerland 2011) by Max Philipp Schmid. In the Jury of this competition sat Antoni Komasa-Łazarkiewicz, Urszula Skassa and Jakub Czekaj.


In the Polish Short Film Competition in the animation category won Oranges (2012) by Marta Szymańska, in the best documentary category won The Whistle (2012) by Grzegorz Zariczny, and in the best fiction film category won Echo by Marcin Filipowicz. The winners in this section were chosen by the international jury composed of Florian Weghorn, Ed Lawrenson, Anna MacDonald. The London Film Academy Award went to Sashka, Sashka (2012) by Michał Szcześniak.

More news
Programme Desperate Times: Kaurismäki and Bresson 5/08/17
Video T-Mobile New Horizons Daily 01 5/08/17
Programme Film as Art: Beuys and Loving Vincent 6/08/17
Video T-Mobile New Horizons Daily 02 6/08/17